Siyapa Cricket Club


AGSFP 2nd v Siyapa Cricket Club Siyapa ACA on Sat 22 Jun 2019 at 1300
Siyapa Cricket Club Won by 2 wickets

Match report Match 9, 22/6/2019
Siyapa vs 2nd AGSFP
Siyapa travelled to Rubislaw this week to play Grammar’s 2nd team. Ian Johnston won the toss for Grammar and decided to bat first on a rather predictable artificial wicket. Captain M. Shahid and Naveed Ahmed led the attack and started with a maiden each. Lord and Johnston were watchful and saw through the new ball attack. However, this meant only being able to score 23 off the first 12 overs. The stubborn partnership was broken in the 13th over when Johnston was caught on 11by the wk Asif Yakub off Ali Naseem. Soon after Joules was run out by Naveed Ahmed while going for an ambitious 2nd run. Agha Haider then joined Lord on the crease. While initially a bit uncertain on the wicket and getting dropped a few times by Siyapa fielders, he continuously grew in confidence and increased the tempo. Eventually scoring a fine half century before getting out LBW to M. Shahid on 64. Unfortunately, none of the other batsmen could help him build a solid lead with only significant contribution coming from Bali (23). Shahid was yet again the pick of the bowlers for Siyapa, getting 4 for 24 in his 10 overs. Grammar were 1 player short otherwise this could very well have been yet another 5 wicket haul for Shahid who is also 1 wicket away from a personal milestone of 100 wickets in grades cricket.
Siyapa’s chase of 144 to win started with a disaster when Abdul Rauf gave a regulation catch to Bali on the very first ball. However, Khurram Qadeer and Shahram Memon didn’t let that affect their plans and scored at a healthy rate managing to take the score to 74/1 in 15 overs. In the 16th over, having scored 48 with the help of 3 sixes and 2 fours, Shahram inside edged a ball to his wickets. Siyapa’s liking for A. Haider continued when Khurram also got caught by Bali in the same over on 24. With 2 new batsman Asif Yakub and R. Naseem, on the crease, the score rate slowed for a bit. While Asif continued on one end, Rehan only managed a 4 losing his bails to Siyapa’s tormentor-in-chief, A. Haider. He was followed almost immediately by Siyapa’s stalwart Amir Siddiq who got out LBW on nought to Sean Harrower. At 94/5, the match once again hang in balance but Umar and Asif managed a good partnership taking the score to 128 in the 30th over when Umer lost his wicket to K. Bali on 18. Asif hung on and for a while seemed to be finishing the job but when is a Siyapa chase without a bit of drama? K. Bali got Asif in his next over on 21. On the other end Agha got Ali on 2 leaving the Siyapa’s tail to score last 8 runs. Grammar sniffing the victory got all the fielder in close. Siyapa didn’t let them down as they gave 2 catches which were generously dropped, returning the early favors by Siyapa’s fielders. Shahid and Naveed who started the day for Siyapa, eventually also finished it for them by taking them home in the 34th over. Agha Haider and K. Bali managing 4/38 and 3/37 respectively.
With half the season gone, and Siyapa without a loss, things do look rosy. However, there are plenty of chinks in the armour that need to be sorted if they want to keep that enviable record going. A mid-season meeting is planned to thrash that out so that the latter half is as good, if not better, than the first one.

AGSFP 2nd Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
143 (44.1 overs)

Siyapa Cricket Club Siyapa ACA Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Muhammad Shahid9.122345.752.51
Naveed Ahmad10.0220120.002.00
Muhammad Ali Naseem10.0139219.503.90
Tanweer Khan8.002700.003.38
Muhammad Umer Ghafoor4.001800.004.50
Shahram Memon3.001500.005.00

Siyapa Cricket Club Siyapa ACA Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 8 wickets

(34.4 overs)
Abdul Rauf Caught  0
Khurram Qadir Caught  24
Shahram Memon Bowled  48
Rehan Naseem Bowled  4
Asif Yaqub Bowled  21
Amir Siddiq Lbw  0
Muhammad Umer Ghafoor Caught  18
Muhammad Ali Naseem Caught  2
Muhammad Shahid Not Out  2
Naveed Ahmad Not Out  5
Tanweer Khan  

AGSFP 2nd Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.